Erol Alkan announces compilation of his greatest remixes to date

An essential snapshot DIY dance music’s trashiest era – and beyond.

Erol Alkan has announced a new remix compilation, Reworks Volume 1, which is due for release on November 3 Phantasy.

The 20-track double CD, 5 x two-track 12” compilation pulls together some Alkan’s “best and most loved remixes” from the previous decade’s golden era blog house  – and beyond.

The compilation boasts everything from Justice’s ‘Waters Of Nazareth’ and Hot Chip’s ‘Boy From School’ to the electro alchemist’s knack for “turning rock into dance music” on reworks for Franz Ferdinand and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. There are also more recent remixes for Tame Impala and Connan Mockasin.

A five-piece collector’s box containing all five 12”s alongside an exclusive interview will also be available on November 3, or to pre-order now. Check that out below and dive into Erol Alkan’s Reworks Volume 1 playlist on Spotify.

Erol Alkan announces compilation  his greatest remixes to date

Read next: What the hell was blog house? 30 classic tracks from a great lost era